modsyn – programs and such

My creative outlet

seeqpod.com is no more!

Posted by modsyn on June 12, 2009

seeqpod.com is down and has been for a while now. They are being sued and filed for bankruptcy. Since jaseeq uses seeqpod’s search engine it also is down. The likelihood that seeqpod.com will be back is extremely low at this point. I have been considering alternatives for a bit now. I’ll update the site if I come up with anything.

I hope you all enjoyed the software while it worked.

Update: There is a jaseeq alternative: Webseek. Get it from here

2 Responses to “seeqpod.com is no more!”

  1. Bob said

    So why not just make it search google? I know this is easily done using index pages and such.

    here is a good starting point. You can have people select what search engine (for speed purposes) or use them all for a more complete search. I am sure it wouldn’t be to much harder to implement and most likely better results. This is what seeqpod.com did in the first place. Except theirs constantly searched, yours would only keep a local database on the computer so they could find songs easier for repeat results. then change the cache amount to support larger databases.

    http://lifehacker.com/software/google/turn-google-into-your-own-personal-free-napster-207672.php

    • modsyn said

      I did have a version at one point that worked in conjunction with a local database. The local database was generated in a similar manner. However, it was built on one of the much earlier versions and I didn’t put a whole lot of effort into it. When I have the time I’ll see if I can dig up that version from somewhere. In the meantime, I will be working on a generic version of “Jaseeq” that will work with multiple “databases” or online services. I’m working out the details in my head since I can’t seem to find the time to write tons of code lately.

Leave a Reply

 
